Santhal Pargana division is one of the five divisions of Jharkhand state in eastern India. This division comprises six districts: Godda, Deoghar, Dumka, Jamtara, Sahibganj and Pakur. Its headquarters is at Dumka.

Santhal Pargana derives its name from two words: “Santhal“, a major tribe of India and Pargana, a unit of administration used mostly by medieval rulers.

Languages in Santhal Pargana division:

  • Angika and Khortha Maithili (29.22%)
  • Santali (25.13%)
  • Hindi (21.43%)
  • Bangla (16.11%)
  • Urdu (5.06%)
  • Others (3.05%)
(Visited 33 times, 1 visits today)

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *