Lohardaga district is one of the twenty-four districts of the Indian state of Jharkhand. The district is named after the town of Lohardaga, the administrative headquarters of the district. The district was created from a portion of Ranchi district in 1983.

This district is surrounded by Latehar district in the north, Gumla district in south and west and Ranchi district in the east. The district covers an area of 1491 km. As of 2011, it is the least populous district of Jharkhand (out of 24). It is currently a part of the Red Corridor.

Lohardaga District has a number of small hill blocks covered with forests. The general slope of the district is from west to east. The main rivers of the district are South Koel, Sankh, Nandni, Chaupat’s and Fulijhar etc. These are mainly Rain fed Rivers and dried up in the summer months. Some springs are also seen in the hilly tract of the district. Geologically the area in comprised with Archean Granites and Gneisses. In the uplands considerable thickness of late-rite of Pleistocene age is found in the Granite and Gneisses tracts. Alluvium of recent to sub-recent age is found in the river valleys.

The most important mineral of the district is bauxite. Other minerals which are found in the district are feldspar, fire clay and china clay and have less economic importance. The major part of the district is covered with Golden Alluvium, Red and Sandy and Red and Gravelly soils. Laterite and Red and Yellow soils are also found elsewhere in the district. The district enjoys a healthy and pleasant climate throughout the year. The annual average temperature is 23 °C and the district receives an annual average rainfall of 1000–1200 mm.

Lohardaga district consists of 7 blocks. The following are the list of the blocks in Lohardaga district: Bhandra, Kisko, Lohardaga, Senha, Kuru, Kairo and Peshrar

(Visited 4 times, 1 visits today)

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *